If you need to disable a custom dynamic security role that you have created or if you need to permanently delete it, this article will run through all the steps needed.

Note: Only people in the Management role have permission to edit a custom role.

Disabling a custom dynamic security role

If you need to temporarily disable access for users within a custom security role or to prepare to permanently delete the custom role, these are the steps you need to follow.

Disabling a custom role will deny access to the learner profiles set for that role, and it will restrict access to any reports or screens for any user assigned to the role.

Note: If a user is assigned to another built-in or custom security role, those permissions will still apply

1. Click on the Manage button on the Learner Support main menu, and then under the Settings panel click the Manage button.

2. On the Settings screen, click on the Dynamic Security Roles button.

3. This will display the Dynamic Security Roles screen where you will see both the built-in system roles along with any other custom roles. Click on the Edit button next to the custom role that you want to disable.

4. Located on the bottom of the Edit Role screen is a Disable button. Click this button to disable the role.

The custom role will now be disabled, removing any access to learner profiles or restricting permission to any reports or screens in the platform granted to the custom role.

You can Restore the custom role or permanently Delete the role by clicking the link on the disabled role.


Restoring a disabled custom security role

Restoring a custom security role that is disabled will restore access to the learner profiles along with access to any reports or screens the custom role has been granted access to.

1. Click on the link next to the name of the disabled custom role to display the Edit screen.

2. Click on the Restore button.


Deleting a custom dynamic security role

Deleting a custom role will permanently remove the role from the platform and is an irreversible operation. If you are unsure if you need to delete a role, it's a good idea to first Disable the role.

Note: you must first disable a custom dynamic security role before you can delete it

1. Click on the link next to the name of the disabled custom role to display the Edit screen.

2. Click on the Delete button to permanently delete the custom security role.

You will then be displayed a confirmation screen. Click on the Delete button to permanently delete the role.


Related Articles

Create or edit Dynamic Security Roles

Learner Support roles and security

Did this answer your question?