If you need to disable a dynamic security role group that you have created or if you need to permanently delete it, this article will run through all the steps needed.
Note: Only people in the Management role have permission to edit a role group.
Disabling a dynamic security role group
If you need to temporarily disable access for a security role group or to prepare to permanently delete the role group, these are the steps you need to follow. First, lets take a look at what happens when you disable a security role group.
Disabling a role group will remove the view access for learner support items such as notes set for that role group. These notes will only then be viewable by those in the management role.
The view setting will no longer be available on learner support items. This means items such as notes can no longer be set to that role group when it is in a disabled state.
Note: If you disable a role group, any learner support items such as notes where the view setting was enabled for that role group will be viewable by management only. To see what
Now lets take a look at the steps you need to complete to disable a security role group.
1. Click on the Manage button on the Learner Support main menu, and then under the Settings panel click the Manage button.
2. On the Settings screen, click on the Dynamic Security Role Groups button.
3. This will display the Dynamic Security Role Groups screen where you will see any existing role groups that you have created. Click on the Edit button next to the role group you want to disable.
4. Located on the bottom of the Edit Role Group screen is a Disable button. Click this button to disable the role group.
The role group will now be disabled, removing view access to learner profiles items granted to the role group.
You can Restore the role group or permanently Delete the role group by clicking the link on the disabled role group.
What happens to learner support items such as notes when a role group is disabled?
When you disable a security role group, any existing learner support items with the view setting enabled for that disabled role group will no longer be visible to any user that is a member of any roles in the disabled role group. The only role which will have access to those items is people in the built-in management role.
The management role will be able for example, to view any notes, open the note and can also re-assign each individual note to another role group or to a built-in system role.
Restoring a disabled dynamic security role group
Restoring a security role group that is disabled will restore view access to the items on the learner profiles.
1. Click on the link next to the name of the disabled custom role to display the Edit screen.
2. Click on the Restore button.
Deleting a dynamic security role group
Deleting a role group will permanently remove the role group from the platform and is an irreversible operation. If you are unsure if you need to delete a role, it's a good idea to first Disable the role group.
Note: you must first disable a dynamic security role group before you can delete it
1. Click on the link next to the name of the disabled role group to display the Edit screen.
2. Click on the Delete button to permanently delete the security role group.
You will then be displayed a confirmation screen. Before you can delete the role group you must re-assign any learner profile items such as notes to another dynamic security role group (if you have created any other) or to one of the built-in system roles. This will re-assign the view setting to the selected role group or built-in system role, for any items that are currently assigned to the role group you are trying to delete.
Enable the the toggle next to the role group or built-in system role that you want to re-assign the items to, and then click on the Reassign and Delete button to permanently delete the role group.