If you would like to hide the grades that you give your learners when grading an assignment, but you would still like to receive any feedback or judgement, then this article will show you how.
There are also times when you would like to hold back the grade so that learners focus on the feedback. You can then later un-hide the grade if you wish. Let's take a look at how this would be achieved.
1. Click on the Assignments tile in the class group where you want to grade the assignment, then click on the Turned-in link as normal to view the work submitted by each learner
2. Select your grading options you want to provide as normal, click on the hide grades from learners button and then complete the grading information as normal. When you click the Grade button, the learner will only receive the Overall feedback and Judgement if you selected to provide these.
3. If you want, you can click back into the Grade panel at a later date and un-hide the grades by clicking on the button again to uncheck the option.
Note: This option is useful for a CBA where you want to provide the grade, feedback and judgement but, until you have your SLAR meeting you do not want students to receive a grade. You can always regrade some learners before removing the option to hide grades.
What does the learner see
1. The message that the learner receives in the platform will not include the actual grade, it will only include the Overall feedback and Judgement if you selected to provide these.
2. When the learner clicks on the View link on the assignment from the class group or in their profile, they will not see the grade here either, they will only see the Overall feedback and Judgement if you selected to provide these.
What happens when I remove the option to hide grades?
If you remove the option at a later date your learners will not receive a new message with their grade. Instead, they can now view the grade on the assignment along with any other grading information such as Overall feedback and a Judgement if you selected to provide these.